Bombay Street Food

Bombay Street Food

The Bombay Bread

Having lived abroad before, I knew the one thing I would miss most about the city is the culinary adventures one can embark upon wandering about its streets. Before leaving Bombay a few weeks ago, I made sure to have all my favorites, one last time, until I was back again.

This meant starting with the quintessential vada pav (vada is boiled potatoes flavored with spices, held together with gram flour batter and deep fried; pav is a type of bread, generally square in shape). After many decades in Bombay, most of which is spent sampling different vada pav’s, I had narrowed down my three favorites – one next door to my school at the edge of Pali Hill, an unassuming tea and lunch stall, the famous vada pav stand next to Hutatma Chowk and the third one next door to Elphinstone Road railway station, frequented by the office crowds and…

View original post 340 more words

Leave a Reply

